Australia

Instagram testing a feature to let users share posts

  • Instagram confirmed that it's testing the feature with a few users at the moment
  • It is not yet clear when, if ever, Instagram will roll the feature out to all users
  • For those concerned about their privacy, a setting allows you to turn off the ability for others to share your posts

By Cecile Borkhataria For Mailonline

Published: 13:58 GMT, 8 February 2018 | Updated: 14:02 GMT, 8 February 2018

Instagram is testing a feature that finally lets users share others people's public posts to their stories.

While the feature is only being trialled with a few users at the moment, it may be rolled out to all users soon.

Normally, Instagram only lets users post photos and videos to their stories from their own account or device.

Scroll down for video

Instagram is testing a feature (circled in red) that finally lets users share others people's public posts to their stories. While the feature is only being trialled with a few users at the moment, it may be rolled out to all users soon 

Instagram is testing a feature (circled in red) that finally lets users share others people's public posts to their stories. While the feature is only being trialled with a few users at the moment, it may be rolled out to all users soon

Facebook-owned Instagram confirmed the new tests to TechCrunch, and Twitter user and Creator of Command for Instagram Zachary Shakked shared a screenshot of the feature being tested.

The company said: 'We're always testing ways to make it easier to share any moment with friends on Instagram.'

It is not yet clear when, if ever, all Instagram users will be able to access the new feature.

For public account holders concerned about their privacy, a setting allows one to turn off the ability for others to share their posts.

Even if Instagram users don't have access to the share feature as yet, the privacy setting is already available.

Creator of Command for Instagram Zachary Shakked shared an image of the re-sharing privacy setting option, which explains that if the feature is on, other people can add your posts to their stories and your username will always show up with the shared postCreator of Command for Instagram Zachary Shakked shared an image of the re-sharing privacy setting option, which explains that if the feature is on, other people can add your posts to their stories and your username will always show up with the shared post

Creator of Command for Instagram Zachary Shakked shared an image of the re-sharing privacy setting option, which explains that if the feature is on, other people can add your posts to their stories and your username will always show up with the shared post

Shakked also shared an image of the privacy setting option, which explains that if the feature is on, other people can add your posts to their stories and your username will always show up with the shared post.

It's common for people to share others' posts by taking a screenshot and posting it.

While it was rumoured that Instagram was testing a regram button for sharing feed posts, it may have been false or simply never introduced.

For public accounts holders concerned about their privacy, a setting allows one to turn off the ability for others to share their posts (stock)For public accounts holders concerned about their privacy, a setting allows one to turn off the ability for others to share their posts (stock)

For public accounts holders concerned about their privacy, a setting allows one to turn off the ability for others to share their posts (stock)

In November 2017, Instagram added a range of new features to its app, including allowing users to edit pictures that their friends send them through direct messaging.

And in October of last year, Instagram introduced a video feature called 'Go Live With' that allows users to add friends in to live broadcasts.

The firm updated this with a new feature that allows friends to request to join a live video.

When watching a live video, users can tap the Request button to join.

While it was rumoured that Instagram was testing a regram button for sharing feed posts, it may have been false or simply never introducedWhile it was rumoured that Instagram was testing a regram button for sharing feed posts, it may have been false or simply never introduced

While it was rumoured that Instagram was testing a regram button for sharing feed posts, it may have been false or simply never introduced

WILL INSTAGRAM ALERT USERS WHEN YOU SCREENSHOT STORIES?

It's set to become even harder to secretly 'stalk' someone on Instagram.

The Facebook -owned app has begun testing a feature that lets your followers know if you've taken a sneaky screenshot of their Story.

The Snapchat -inspired feature is expected to launch on the picture-sharing platform soon and is currently being trialled in Japan.

Instagram is launching a feature that alerts users when their story has been screenshotted by somebody else. There is some leeway as the first offence only triggers a warningInstagram is launching a feature that alerts users when their story has been screenshotted by somebody else. There is some leeway as the first offence only triggers a warning

Instagram is launching a feature that alerts users when their story has been screenshotted by somebody else. There is some leeway as the first offence only triggers a warning

It follows news that Instagram has launched a tool that lets your followers to know exactly how long you've spent on the app.

The app will warn users if their screenshot of a Story will result in a potentially embarrassing notification.

Users will get one free screenshot, and then they will see a warning that any further pictures will send a notification.

Instagram already sends a notification when a screenshot is taken of a private message.

Instagram first saw the introduction of screenshots back in November 2016 when private, disappearing messages would trigger a screenshot notification.  Now a similar function will be coming to Instagram stories Instagram first saw the introduction of screenshots back in November 2016 when private, disappearing messages would trigger a screenshot notification.  Now a similar function will be coming to Instagram stories 

Instagram first saw the introduction of screenshots back in November 2016 when private, disappearing messages would trigger a screenshot notification (shown). Now a similar function will be coming to Instagram stories

Read more:

Original Article

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *